Architectural Association swears in new board 2016-2018

This past Friday, May 6th, the local Architectural Association of Puerto Peñasco (Colegio de Arquitectos Rocaportenses, A.C.) held a ceremony to swear in its new board, led by incoming president Architect Daniel Almada Ibarra, along with Vice President Miguel Sánchez y Sánchez, Secretary Architect Isaac Uriarte Navarro, and Architect Marco Antonio Pérez Elias as Treasurer.  The moving ceremony included the presence of honored guests including representatives from architectural associations from across Sonora (Navojoa-Sur de Sonora, Alamos, Cd. Obregon, Hermosillo, Agua Prieta, Nogales and San Luis Rio Colorado), along with ITSPP Director Maria Jesús Reyes Ortiz on behalf of Sonora Governor Claudia Pavlovich Arellano, and Puerto Peñasco Mayor Kiko Munro.  During his message, Mayor Kiko Munro recognized the work of the outgoing president (I’m honored to say, that is myself) for having kept the architectural association active in many forums as well as for work among associations in seeking the participation of more architects in decisions that involve our city and the quality of life of its residents. He made a commitment to review, along with members from the architectural association, a proposal for a new Urban Development Plan, as well as to establish the Municipal Planning Institute.

The formal swearing in was done by Atty. Francisco M. Pintor Beiles, General Coordinator of Professional Registry and Certification for the State of Sonora. The association members themselves made the commitment to conduct themselves under the principles of ethics and association statutes. 2016-2018 Architectural Association President Daniel Almada then made remarks as incoming president.

I am sure the participation of our association within the community will continue to be dynamic, while we seek to raise the quality of service offered by professionals as well as greater participation in projects aimed at improving the quality of life for he city’s residents, better public spaces, and improved urban infrastructure.

To wrap up the ceremony, and to my great surprise, 2014-2016 State Architectural Association President Architect Pedro Lasso presented me with an acknowledgment from the National President of the Mexican Federation of Architects (FCARM), Arq. Isabel del Carmen Espinosa Segura.  The welcome recognition was for the past two years as President of the Puerto Peñasco Architectural Association, during which time we worked to strengthen our association locally and at a state level, making the name of Puerto Peñasco ring on the national level as a small group of active architects committed to their profession and to their city.

Among the distinguished guests at the event were Héctor Vázquez del Mercado, President of the Convention and Visitors Bureau, Atty. Guillermo Muñoz and Engineer Angel de la Puerta from the local Chamber of Commerce, Enrique Rodríguez, President of the local Rotary Club, along with numerous Rotary members, among others.

It is important to note that during the FCAES Assembly of Architects held the following day here in Puerto Peñasco, Architecto Marcelo Martínez Bohorquez of Navojoa, Sonora, was unanimously elected as 2016-2018 State President of the Architectural Associations, replacing Architect Pedro Lasso of Puerto Peñasco.



Architect, fotographer, golfer and enthusiastic promoter of Puerto Peñasco!

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply