Eddie Awards nominations open! Recognizing local & visiting artists

It’s awards season – which means that here in town nominations are now OPEN for the annual Eddie Awards (ceremony to be held Jan 30 at the Peñasco EXPO Convention Center) Nominations and voting open Jan 11 – 29.

To nominate your favorite local or visiting artist from 2015, go to Global Artefacts by Eddie Wharez – Puerto Peñasco – Rocky Point, Son., Mex. and give the page a like and then nominate and/or vote in the following categories. Local nominees must either be originally from Puerto Peñasco or residents who have lived in the area for a minimum of 2 years:

1. Lifetime achievement (50 and over / or posthumously)
2. Open categories a) Youth artist (individual or group under 25 yrs old) b) Consolidated Artist (over 25 yrs old) or c) Best Group (adult)
3. Visiting artist – someone (or group) who has contributed to the community through their art (workshops, exhibition, music, etc.) and provided a positive impact on the city.
4. Artist of the Year
5. Cultural Promoter

6. Fan Favorite artist with the most likes from social networks
and NEW this year…
7. Outstanding person of the year – this goes beyond art/culture as this is to recognize anyone who has helped lift the name of Puerto Peñasco regionally, nationally, and internationally through participation in other fields of interest (sports, academics, etc.)

The 5th Eddie Awards Gala will be held at the EXPO Convention Center in Rocky Point on Jan. 30th, 6 p.m.

Former Eddie Winners


Lifetime Achievement Award: Amaranto Celaya Celaya

Fan Favorite (voted on through Facebook): Angélica Sotomayor, Hawaiian dance instructor

Artist of the Year: Manuel Martínez “The Sand Man”

Artisan of the Year: Alma Yanez

Youth Artist of the Year: Rabél Durán

Group Artist of the Year: Destiny Dance Academy

Visiting Artist in 2014: Canadian filmmaker Lisa Ovies

Cultural Promotor of 2014: Luis Lugo

Honorary Eddies:

Photographer, painter, film connoisseur, and cultural promoter Socorro Gonzalez Barajas

The Rocky Point Times Newspaper

Honorable Mentions:

Artisan group – Artesanos en Movimiento (Wendy Fregozo, Alma Yanez, and Ricardo Monjaraz)

Cultural Promotors – Russ & Naomi Black


Fan Favorite: Painter Gabriela Solis Palofax

Lifetime Achievement Award: Award-winning novelist, painter, filmmaker, chronicler Don Guillermo Munro Palacio

Open Category (individual over 25): Photographer Jesusa Gamboa  (“La China que vi” photo exhibition)

Youth Category (under 25, group or individual):  Yuvid Castro (painter and visual artist)

Group: Agua de Coco (salsa, reggae band)

Best Visiting Artist: Roger Clyne & the Peacemakers

Cultural Promoter: Shandra Keesecker of Rocky Point 360

Honorable Eddies:  singer Alan Munro, model Reyna Levya, Guille “the Eternal Princess” Salazar, and the team of Rocky Point 360


Lifetime Achievement:  Armando “Kennedy” Noriega, musician and composer

Open Category: Guillermo Munro Colosio (Memuco), painter, graphic designer

Special Eddie:  Nina Mier, cultural promoter




You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply